It takes a lot of work through out the year to plan our Bonfire event and ensure that Society has the funds to be able to afford the fireworks event here in Lindfield.

We have to have properly qualified first aid staff, marshals and let us not forget the all important qualified pyrotechnicians without whom there would be no fireworks! We thank them all one and all!

This is a list of the people who put in a MASSIVE amounts of time and effort to make sure it happens.


Alison Eggert-Hobbs & Martin Durrant


Mr Ian Thomas, Mr Howard Collins, Mr John & Mrs Sally Cottenham

Hon Life Members

Mrs J Anscombe, Mrs B Beecham, Mr P Cummins, Mr J Drew, Mr I Furnell, Mrs C Furnell, Mr J Furnell, Miss S Furnell, Mrs E Honeysett, Mr P Kemp, Mr B King, Mr J King, Mrs S Lucas, Mrs J Mitchell, Mrs V Read, Mr D Room, Mr A Underwood

Hon Vice Presidents

Mrs S Blunden, Mr T Clements, Mr & Mrs H Collins, Mr D Diebelius, Mrs A Eggert-Hobbs, Mr K Frost, Mr D Gander, Mrs S Hobbs, Mr P Holder, Mr N McNally, Mr A MacKenzie, Mr D MacMillan, Mrs G MacMillan, Mr I Masters, Mrs S Masters, Mrs G Neve, Mr M Nickson, Mrs & Mrs D Riddle, Mrs A Seaward, Mrs B. Smith, Mr K Smith, Mr P Smith, Mr I Thomas, Mr & Mrs C Vinall, Mrs S Cheeseman

The Committee

Chairman – Darren Lucas

Vice Chairman – Mark Tampion-Lacey

Honorary Treasurer – Tracey Webster

Honorary Secretary – Vacant

Minutes Secretary – Stewart Rose

Membership Secretary – Mike Webster

Logistics Secretary – Matt Wilcock

Events Co-ordinator – Sarah Tampion-Lacey

Bonfire Captain – Richard Newman

Press Secretary – Stewart Rose

Other Committee members – Wendy Box, Emma Ford, Wilson Forsythe, Richard Newman, Bea Wilcock

Bonfire Night-specific Roles

Harbour Master – David Riddle

Bonfire Bishop – Ian Newman

Procession Captain – Matt Wilcock

Captain of Barrels – TBA

Captain of Buckets – TBA

Captain of Ranks – Mike Webster

Captain of Torches – Emma Ford

Captain of Set Pieces – TBA

Updated April 2024